ART NOUVEAU: WEDDING CAKES, Part1

Wedding cakes have evolved a lot in the last years. Because of television series like Cake Boss & Cake Wars, we all know that everything can be made into a cake and that they are real artists that works in that field.  I must admit that after a few seasons of these series, I was a bit tired of it and disinterested. When I started on Pinterest, I never looked at Cakes boards. Everything changed a few weeks ago.

I was impressed by the beauty and the perfection of the flowers on Andrée & Jean’s cake, which sort of got me into it.

Then I started to look around everyone’s cake boards and I got hooked! It’s been weeks that most of my pins are cakes. But not any cake, I’m VERY picky. I don’t marvel at any sort of embellishment. I like unique, different, colourful, delicate. I’m really not into traditional. I think my obsession just got fulfilled after spending hours on someone’s board which had more than 28 000 pins! I can now share with you my observations and my findings.

First observation: lots of work doesn’t necessarily equal beautiful. Sometimes, too much is just too much.

I have to tell you that this is my personal taste and taste shouldn’t be discussed. If you don’t agree with my observations or my favorites, who am I to tell you that you’re wrong? You’re entitled to your own opinion and I totally respect that.

Second observation: simple can be stunning.

Third observation: it’s NEVER too colourful!

Fourth observation: the line between gorgeous and kitsch is very thin, as you can see with those examples who are, in my opinion, just on the border of good taste.

Fifth observation: traditional, even if it’s not my cup of tea, can be beautiful.

Conclusion: wedding cake making is now a real art form  and we’re not done being amazed by the creativity and talent of the master pastry chefs!

You can find all these cakes on my Pinterest boards at http://pinterest.com/francemo, with the links to their own websites. In my next posts, I will show you gorgeous examples of theme cakes, that will continue to dazzle you!

To be continued…

One thought on “ART NOUVEAU: WEDDING CAKES, Part1

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I am inspired!
    Very useful information particularly the final part :
    ) I deal with such information much. I used to be looking for this certain info for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

